A Little About the House

A Little About The House

A Little About the House

Little Houghton House was built of white limestone ashlar from Kingsthorpe in a late Georgian style and was completed in 1825, with the first person to live in the house being a Mr William Tyler Smyth. Built on the site of an older house dating back to the early 1700s, in 1773 as part of the terms of the late owners will, most of the house was pulled down and the gardens sold to Robert Deacon, although it is thought that the present kitchen and cellar are thought to have formed part of the original property.

The architecturally pleasing stable yard was built on an old eel pond, which was drained and treated with lime. Still in use and to the side of the stable yard, the old walled kitchen garden would have been the site for the old tithe barn in previous years.

The large pond in the grounds which in some places is 17 feet deep, contains many varieties of fish and whilst still 2 acres in size would have been even larger than this when first formed by damming up a stream that ran from a nearby field.

The first electric lights were installed in 1932.

The sale of the property to the current owners, is the first time in over 400 years that the house has been separated from the Estate, which is managed by the Davidge Usher Trust.

Galleries

Exteriors, Gardens & Countryside

From the pleasing stable yard, the walled kitchen garden, Tithe barn and two acre pond.

Please click below for the gallery.

Interior and Amenities

The house interior is a special blend of old and new, from the formal to the relaxing.

Please click below for the gallery.

Have questions? Please contact us below